Monkeyland Dominican Republic: Which Park Is Which?
Three regions, one name: Monkeyland appears on tour listings from Punta Cana, Puerto Plata and Samana, and they are different parks reached through different operators.
Short answer
Monkeyland is a tour-brand name, not a single park. The original five-acre squirrel monkey park sits in the Anamuya hills near Punta Cana, reached through Runners Adventures listings from $95 per person. Separate Monkeyland products run from Puerto Plata from $69, from Samana from $65, and from La Romana and Juan Dolio from $95.
Search "Monkeyland" on any booking site and you will get Punta Cana safaris, Puerto Plata truck rides, Samana visits and zipline combos, all wearing the same name. They are not the same product. One is a five-acre park in the Anamuya hills; others are operator packages departing from three different coasts of the same country. Check the departure point before you book, because a Punta Cana listing will not collect you from a Puerto Plata hotel, and a Samana departure is useless if you are sleeping in Bavaro.
This guide sorts the name from the parks. It covers the original Punta Cana site, the Puerto Plata and Samana versions, the La Romana and Juan Dolio departures, and how all of it differs from Monkey Jungle near Sosua, which is a separate venue with its own gate. Every price and rating below comes from the current tour listings on this site or from official sources, so you can match a listing to your resort area in a few minutes. Once you've matched a park to your resort area, the month-by-month guide to Monkeyland weather and timing helps you pick a date when rain and heat are least likely to interrupt your tour.
What Is Monkeyland In The Dominican Republic?
Monkeyland is a commercial tour name used for squirrel monkey parks and guided monkey visits at several locations in the Dominican Republic, not one single attraction. The original and best-known site is a five-acre park in the Anamuya hills outside Punta Cana, home to two families of squirrel monkeys that visitors can observe and feed by hand. Monkeyland has no website of its own, so visits to the park are booked through tour operators.
The name causes real confusion because "Monkeyland" also appears on products departing Puerto Plata and Samana, operated by the same dominant operator, Runners Adventures, but selling a different day out with different durations and inclusions. The Dominican Republic has no native wild monkeys: the only monkey species native to Hispaniola, the Hispaniola monkey (Antillothrix bernensis), is extinct and known from cave fossils, as the paleontological record shows. Every monkey you can meet on this island today lives in a park or enclosure, kept there deliberately for visitors.
The official Dominican tourism portal carries an entry for the Punta Cana site, describing five acres of countryside where two families of squirrel monkeys greet visitors and can be safely fed by hand, with guides explaining the species as you go. That entry, on godominicanrepublic.com, is the closest thing to an official description of the park that exists.
Because no central box office publishes one price, each operator sets its own package. The practical consequence: comparing "Monkeyland prices" across booking pages without checking the departure area first is a waste of time. A $69 listing and a $209 listing can both be genuine Monkeyland products, just from different coasts or with ziplines and buggies bolted on.
Which Monkeyland Should You Book From Punta Cana?
From Punta Cana the core product is the Monkeyland and Plantation Safari, from $95 per person with a 4.8 rating from 4,865 reviews, run by Runners Adventures over about 6 hours with hotel pickup listed. A shorter half-day version from the same operator, 5 to 5.5 hours, also starts from $95. Combos with ziplines run from $130, and the big three-activity bundle starts from $209.
The flagship is the Monkeyland and Plantation Safari Tour from Punta Cana, the most reviewed Monkeyland-only listing in the country. It pairs the guided squirrel monkey visit with a plantation and countryside circuit, includes bottled water and hotel pickup and drop-off, and lists free cancellation. Food, gratuities and a locker fee are excluded. If you want the name-brand day out with the deepest review pool behind it, this is the one; you can compare it against the other Punta Cana options in the site's Punta Cana Monkeyland tour overview and on the featured Monkeyland plantation safari tour page, with Full-Day Monkeyland And Plantation beside it.
The same core visit sells under several wrappers. Runners Adventures also runs the Punta Cana: Monkeyland Half-Day Safari and Plantation, from $95 per person with a 4.6 rating from 1,648 reviews. The 45-minute guided portion brings visitors right among the park's squirrel monkeys, followed by a coffee and cacao stop at a typical Dominican house. From $109 per person, Somos Viaje's Monkeyland Punta Cana Natural Jungle and Guided Safari Tour is still waiting on its first review. El patrón tours goes a different way: its Monkey Sanctuary, Cenote and Dominican Culture tour starts at $95, holds a 4.2 rating across 162 reviews, and adds a swim stop at a natural cenote.
The half-day safari deserves a direct look if the 6-hour flagship feels long. It lists its pickup windows openly, morning between 7:00 and 8:10, afternoon between 1:00 and 2:10, which is unusual transparency for this market, and its exclusion list is short: tips. One detail matters for planning: the operator's rules for this listing bar pregnant women and guests with heart conditions, mobility problems, epilepsy or upper respiratory infections, and ask visitors not to wear sunscreen or insect repellent before the monkey interaction.

For travelers who want more than monkeys, the Punta Cana Monkeyland and Zipline Two Adventures in One Day package, from $130 per person, rated 4.8 from 1,227 reviews, adds a 12-cable zipline circuit and a Dominican typical lunch to the Monkeyland entrance. The top of the Punta Cana range is the Adventure Bundle with ziplines and buggies, from $209, rated 4.9 from 13,844 reviews, the most reviewed listing on this entire site. Note the bundling effect: price rises with activity count, not with monkey time, which stays roughly the same across all of them.
| Punta Cana listing | Operator | Price | Rating | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monkeyland and Plantation Safari Tour | Runners Adventures | From $95 per person | 4.8 from 4,865 reviews | 6 hours |
| Monkeyland Half-Day Safari and Plantation | Runners Adventures | From $95 per person | 4.6 from 1,648 reviews | 5 to 5.5 hours |
| Monkeyland Natural Jungle and Guided Safari | Somos Viaje | From $109 per person | No reviews yet | 5 hours |
| Monkey Sanctuary, Cenote and Culture Tour | El patrón tours | From $95 per person | 4.2 from 162 reviews | 4 hours |
| Monkeyland and Zipline Two Adventures | Runners Adventures | From $130 per person | 4.8 from 1,227 reviews | 8 hours |
| Adventure Bundle: Monkeyland, Ziplines and Buggies | Runners Adventures | From $209 per person | 4.9 from 13,844 reviews | 9 hours 30 minutes |
One last Punta Cana option skips the Monkeyland brand altogether: the Monkey House VIP Animal Sanctuary Experience, from $90 per person for 2.5 hours, rated 4.9 across 61 reviews, is a monkey park built around close contact with the animals, and it is wheelchair accessible. One reviewer counted several types of monkeys. It suits anyone whose interest is monkeys rather than the plantation circuit.
What Is Monkeyland Like In Puerto Plata?
Monkeyland in Puerto Plata is a separate operator product departing the north coast, from $69 per person for the 4.5-hour Monkeyland Puerto Plata safari, rated 4.9 from 1,549 reviews. It feeds squirrel monkeys fruit in an enclosed sanctuary, and it is not the same park as the Punta Cana site, though the dominant operator, Runners Adventures, appears on both.
The entry-level listing, Monkeyland Puerto Plata, describes visitors feeding squirrel monkeys fruit and interacting closely with them in an enclosed monkey park during a group safari, with bottled water plus hot chocolate and coffee samples included and gratuities excluded. Pickup is not confirmed on that listing, so check the operator's booking page before assuming hotel collection, and it lists wheelchair accessibility, which the Punta Cana park does not. If you are weighing the two coasts generally, the site's comparison of Punta Cana and Puerto Plata as bases plus the deeper Puerto Plata Monkeyland listings rundown cover the fuller picture.
Two Puerto Plata listings pair the monkey visit with the Damajagua waterfalls. The Monkey Park Tour and Damajagua Waterfalls, from $87 per person and rated 4.9 from 173 reviews, includes helmets and life jackets for the falls and excludes gratuities, with pickup not confirmed on the listing. Its newer sibling, the Damajagua Waterfalls and Monkey Park Combo Tour from $89 with pickup listed, includes round-trip transport, both entrance fees and safety equipment, and excludes lunch, tips and water shoes. The $89 Damajagua Waterfalls & Monkey Park Combo stops at the MonkeyHome sanctuary and rules out children under 8, pregnant women, and anyone with back or heart problems, since the falls are a physical outing. It also asks visitors to skip sunscreen on their hands before meeting the monkeys.
The zipline variant here is the Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure from Puerto Plata, from $90 per person, rated 4.9 from 403 reviews, which uses a fruit basket during the monkey encounter in the Monkey Jungle forest after the ziplines. The zipline harnesses fit a maximum waistline of 44 inches (111 cm), a firm equipment limit to note before booking, and hotel pickup and drop-off are both included.

Cruise passengers have their own tier, and it is the cheapest monkey time in the country. The Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion from Amber Cove and Taino Bay, from $65 per person for 50 minutes, holds a 5.0 rating from 16 reviews and describes monkeys climbing onto shoulders and hands in an interactive enclosure, with port pickup, air-conditioned transport and WiFi on board listed. Two longer port options from $89.30 per person run 2 to 2.5 hours: one is an observation-only tropical garden visit where touching, holding and feeding are not permitted, and the other adds a farm-animal stop with the same observation-only rule. Read the description carefully: interaction and observation are different products at different prices.
| Puerto Plata listing | Price | Rating | Duration | Interaction style per listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monkeyland Puerto Plata | From $69 per person | 4.9 from 1,549 reviews | 4.5 hours | Feeding and close interaction |
| Monkey Park Tour and Damajagua Waterfalls | From $87 per person | 4.9 from 173 reviews | 4.5 hours | Feeding and interaction, plus falls |
| Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure | From $90 per person | 4.9 from 403 reviews | 6 hours | Fruit basket feeding after ziplines |
| Monkey Tour from Taino Bay and Amber Cove | From $89.30 per person | No reviews yet | 2 hours | Observation only, no touching |
| Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion | From $65 per person | 5.0 from 16 reviews | 50 minutes | Interactive enclosure, contact described |
Is There A Monkeyland In Samana?
Yes, Monkeyland Samana is a real and separate tour, and at $65 per person it is the cheapest of the Monkeyland tours. The bare visit runs about 1 hour, while the Samana Monkeyland and Open-Air Safari Truck Tour runs around 4 hours, also from $65. Both depart Samana city only, and the listings explicitly tell Punta Cana guests to book the Punta Cana version instead.
The short listing, Monkeyland Samana Shared Adventure, includes the monkeys' food and public transport, and has only 3 reviews, too few for a star rating to mean anything. Expect close interaction with a family of squirrel monkeys eating from a fruit bowl or straight from your hand. It offers wheelchair and pushchair accessibility.
The longer Samana package bundles admission with an open-air safari truck ride through the countryside. Its restrictions are practical and worth reading: wear comfortable clothes and walking shoes, bring a camera, and keep shiny objects secure because, as the operator notes, the monkeys are attracted to them. Pickup is not confirmed on that listing, so arrange your own way to the meeting point in Samana city or check with the operator before booking.

Samana suits two kinds of traveler. First, anyone already staying on the peninsula, perhaps around Santa Barbara de Samana or Las Galeras, for whom the Punta Cana parks are simply too far. Second, whale-season visitors combining a peninsula trip with a morning with the monkeys. The full regional picture, including how Samana's other excursions stack up, is in the site's Samana Monkeyland tours guide.
Can You Reach Monkeyland From La Romana Or Juan Dolio?
Yes, three listings serve the Amber Cove and Taino Bay cruise ports. Monkeyland and Plantation Safari from La Romana runs 4 hours from $95 per person, rated 4.6 from 77 reviews. From Juan Dolio, a full-day version runs 7 hours from $95, rated 4.9 from 128 reviews, with a typical Dominican buffet lunch included. From Bayahibe, a half-day safari runs 5.5 hours from $95 with lunch.
The La Romana product is the same Runners Adventures visit in miniature, with hotel pickup and drop-off, a local guide and bottled water included, and food, gratuities and a locker fee excluded. The Juan Dolio full-day version stretches the day to 7 hours and upgrades the catering to a typical Dominican buffet lunch with hot chocolate and coffee samples; pickup is not confirmed on that listing. The Bayahibe half-day safari listing does not state pickup, so confirm on the booking page. Transport by open-air safari truck, lunch and the Monkeyland entrance are included, with tips, souvenirs, a locker fee and photos excluded. The rest of the planning pages sit on Monkeys in Dominican Republic.
One Bayahibe detail deserves its own line because it appears on several listings and nowhere in most travelers' planning: people with severe peanut allergies cannot take part, and neither can anyone with a cold or flu, a rule the operator ties to protecting the animals from human illness. The same restriction appears on the Bayahibe buggy combo. If anyone in your party sniffles on departure morning, expect to be turned away at the park.
The southeast also has its own buggy option, the Bayahibe/La Romana 4x4 Buggy and Monkeyland Tour, from $179 per group for 8 hours with lunch, water and all buggy training included. The same cold, flu and peanut-allergy exclusions apply to the Monkeyland entry.

Monkeyland Or Monkey Jungle Sosua: Which Park Suits You?
Monkey Jungle, set between Sosua and Cabarete on the north coast, is a separate venue with its own gate, its own zip line and its own prices, and it is not part of the Monkeyland brand. Admission is $50 for ages 12 and up and $40 for children 3 to 11, cash only, the zip line is $80 and $70, and the combination ticket is $100 and $90. Hours are 9:00 am to 4:00 pm, closed Sundays.
Those prices come from Monkey Jungle's own official site, which also states that no reservations are required though they are recommended in high season, and that profits from the venues go to HADAC, the venue's non-profit organization, which supports medical and dental clinics for local communities. That last point is the sharpest practical difference between the two names: Monkeyland is a commercial visitor park whose listings make no charity claim, while Monkey Jungle positions its gate receipts as funding community health care.
Species is where honesty requires care. The Monkeyland parks keep squirrel monkeys, confirmed by the official tourism portal. Monkey Jungle is home to monkeys, though the park's official site doesn't name which species live there. Anyone promising a particular monkey species at Monkey Jungle is repeating a claim the park itself does not make. The head-to-head breakdown, including what the money buys at each, is in the site's dedicated Monkeyland versus Monkey Jungle comparison.
| Monkeyland (Punta Cana) | Monkey Jungle (Sosua) | |
|---|---|---|
| How you buy | Through operator listings, from $95 per person | Direct at the gate, $50 adult, $40 child 3 to 11 |
| Species on record | Squirrel monkeys, per official tourism portal | Not stated on readable official pages |
| Typical format | 4 to 8-hour packages with transport and extras | Walk-up visit, zip line sold separately or combined |
| Payment | Through the operator's live listing | Cash only |
| Charity claim | None on the listings | Profits support HADAC medical and dental clinics |
| Days | Operator schedules vary by listing | Open 9:00 am to 4:00 pm, closed Sundays |
Choose Monkeyland if you are based in Punta Cana, La Romana or Bayahibe and want everything, transport, lunch options, combos, arranged in one booking. Choose Monkey Jungle if you are staying in Sosua or Cabarete, want to pay at the gate on your own schedule, or want your admission to support the clinics the venue funds.
How Much Do Monkeyland Tours Cost Across The Country?
The floor is $65 per person, shared by the Monkeyland Samana visit and the 50-minute Amber Cove cruise excursion. The standard plantation safari from Punta Cana, La Romana and Juan Dolio is from $95 per person. Zipline combos run from $130, buggy combos from $179, and the three-activity Punta Cana bundle tops the range at $209 per person.
Price follows three variables: departure region, activity count and per-person versus per-group pricing. Not every price on this page is per person. Three buggy and ATV listings are priced per group, not per person: two Runners Adventures buggy tours at $179, and a Punta Cana Monkeyland and ATV package from Tours By Miguel at $370. Every other tour is priced per person, from $65 to $209. That last one bundles roundtrip transport, guides for both activities, a cave visit and a swim stop at Macao beach. Per-group pricing can undercut per-person pricing for a family of four, so always divide before comparing.
Ratings also vary with review depth, and depth is what makes a rating trustworthy. The Adventure Bundle's 4.9 from 13,844 reviews is the strongest signal on the site. The flagship plantation safari's 4.8 from 4,865 reviews and the Puerto Plata safari's 4.9 from 1,549 reviews are similarly solid pools. Some Monkeyland tours have yet to collect a single review, and the Somos Viaje safari and the Tours By Miguel ATV combo are two of them. None of them shows a rating yet, so treat the silence as neutral rather than as a warning sign.
| Region | Cheapest Monkeyland entry | Standard safari | Combo ceiling |
|---|---|---|---|
| Punta Cana | From $95 per person (plantation safari, 6 hours) | From $95 per person | From $209 (ziplines plus buggies) |
| Puerto Plata | From $65 per person (cruise excursion, 50 minutes) | From $69 per person | From $90 (zipline combo) |
| Samana | From $65 per person (1-hour visit) | From $65 per person | From $65 with safari truck |
| La Romana / Bayahibe / Juan Dolio | From $95 per person (Bayahibe half day) | From $95 per person | From $179 per group (buggy) |
Free cancellation applies to every Monkeyland tour here, which takes much of the risk out of booking early. Several listings also state their refund windows in their restrictions, the Bayahibe buggy listing for example gives a full refund if cancellation is informed at least 24 hours before. Check the specific listing's terms rather than assuming; the operator's live listing carries the binding version.
What Rules Apply At The Monkeyland Parks?
The recurring operator rules are: no sunscreen or insect repellent before the monkey interaction, no participation for pregnant women or people with heart conditions, epilepsy or upper respiratory infections, closed-toe comfortable shoes, and cash for tips and photos. Cold or flu symptoms bar entry to the Monkeyland parks, and severe peanut allergies bar participation on several listings.
These come from the operators' own listing restrictions, chiefly the Runners Adventures rules, and they exist for the animals' protection as much as yours: chemicals on skin transfer when monkeys take food from hands. The listings also mention that people with reduced mobility or disabilities may be excluded from certain tours, and that most Monkeyland products are not wheelchair accessible, with the notable exceptions of the Monkeyland Puerto Plata safari, the Samana shared adventure and the Amber Cove shore excursion.
| Rule | Where it appears | Who it affects |
|---|---|---|
| No sunscreen or repellent before interaction | Runners Adventures listings, Punta Cana | All visitors |
| No cold, flu or upper respiratory infection | Monkeyland entries, several listings | Anyone symptomatic on the day |
| Severe peanut allergy excluded | Zipline and buggy combos with Monkeyland entry | Allergic visitors |
| Not recommended for pregnancy or heart conditions | Most Punta Cana and combo listings | Affected travelers |
| Cash for lockers, photos, tips | Multiple listings | Everyone budgeting extras |
| Shiny objects attract monkeys, keep them secure | Samana safari truck listing | Anyone carrying jewelry or keys |

What to wear is answered by the same rule set: light comfortable clothing, closed shoes, a hat and a camera. No listing requires anything beyond that, and several suggest bringing extra cash for souvenir photos, which on most of these products is a separate purchase from a resident photographer. The site's dressing advice, with the reasoning behind each rule, is in the post on what to wear to Monkeyland Punta Cana.
Are The Monkeyland Parks Ethical?
The Monkeyland parks are commercial visitor attractions, not sanctuaries, and their own listings describe them that way. Operators state limited group sizes, guided handling and veterinary framing, but no independent welfare audit or regulator statement covers these parks. Anyone asserting either cruelty or gold-standard welfare is going beyond the public record.
This site's position is plain reporting. The official tourism portal describes a five-acre commercial park where monkeys are fed by hand under supervision. Operators' pages describe limited daily visitor numbers and animal-welfare framing; those are the operators' own claims. What does not exist, at least in any source this research found, is an independent review of conditions at the Punta Cana, Puerto Plata or Samana parks. Travelers who want their money to support a stated charitable mission can weigh Monkey Jungle's published HADAC commitment, which is on that venue's official site, against Monkeyland's commercial model.
Within the visits themselves, the listed rules do most of the protecting: no lotions on skin, no entry while ill, feeding only under supervision. Observation-only products, such as the Puerto Plata monkey sightseeing tour that also takes in cows and pigs, exist for visitors who would rather not touch at all, and they carry the same free cancellation as the hands-on options.
That is the whole map. Match the departure area to where you sleep, match the package to how many activities you want, and the name stops being confusing.
Common Questions About Monkeyland Dominican Republic
How Much Do Monkeyland Tours Cost Across The Country?
From $65 per person at the bottom, shared by Samana and the cruise-port excursion, through $95 for the standard plantation safari, to $209 for the Punta Cana bundle with ziplines and buggies. Three buggy products are priced per group, starting at $179.