Monkeyland Puerto Plata Tours: Prices, Pickup And Combos

Monkeyland Puerto Plata is the north coast arm of a name that also appears at Punta Cana and Samana, and the listings around it split into plain monkey visits, zipline combos, waterfall pairings and short cruise port runs.

Three squirrel monkeys resting in a line on a wooden rail under green canopy, forested hills behind.

Short answer

Monkeyland Puerto Plata tours run from $65 to $90 per person. The standalone Monkeyland Puerto Plata tour starts at $69. Two Damajagua combos run here. Two Damajagua combos run from Puerto Plata: the Monkey Park Tour and Damajagua Waterfalls, rated 4.9 from 173 reviews at $87, and the Damajagua Waterfalls & Monkey Park Combo at $89, which adds a MonkeyHome sanctuary stop and is not suitable for children under 8. The second combo on the page, Damajagua Waterfalls & Monkey Park Combo, is priced at $89 and holds a 4.9 rating from 16 reviews, with its monkey stop at MonkeyHome sanctuary. Zipline combos start at $90. The park itself holds squirrel monkeys kept in an enclosed park, not a wild population.

Monkeyland Puerto Plata tours are the north coast's answer to the better known Punta Cana monkey listings, and the name travels: the same Monkeyland brand appears in the Anamuya hills above Punta Cana, on the Samana peninsula, and here on the north coast near Puerto Plata, Sosua and Cabarete. Every one of those is a commercial visitor park where squirrel monkeys are kept, fed by hand under supervision, and photographed in small guided groups. None of them is a wild sighting, because the Dominican Republic has no native wild monkeys today; the only monkey ever native to Hispaniola, the Hispaniola monkey, is extinct and known from cave fossils alone.

That matters for what you are actually buying. A Monkeyland Puerto Plata booking is a seat in a safari truck, a guide, entry to an enclosed monkey park, and, depending on the listing, a zipline circuit, a waterfall hike or a port transfer squeezed alongside it. Cruise passengers can only buy these through their cruise line, not directly. This guide compares the north coast listings on price, duration, pickup and inclusions so a Puerto Plata visitor can pick the right variant in a few minutes of reading.

What Is Monkeyland Puerto Plata Exactly?

Monkeyland Puerto Plata is a guided squirrel monkey encounter operated on the north coast by Runners Adventures, sold as a roughly 4.5 hour group safari from $69 per person, in which visitors feed the monkeys fruit and interact closely with them inside an enclosed park rather than observing a wild population. The flagship tour, Monkeyland Puerto Plata, carries a 4.9 rating from 1,549 reviews and includes bottled water plus coffee and hot chocolate samples, leaving gratuities as the main extra. Cruise passengers can only book this tour through their cruise line, as the operator cannot sell to them directly. Pickup is not confirmed on that listing, so check transport terms on the live listing before assuming hotel collection.

The species involved are squirrel monkeys, the same small primates featured at the Punta Cana and Samana versions of the park. The official Dominican Republic tourism portal describes the Punta Cana Monkeyland as a five-acre countryside setting where two families of squirrel monkeys can be safely fed by hand, and the north coast operation follows the same model: habituated animals, a guide, and food passed from visitors' hands under supervision. It is a commercial attraction, not a sanctuary charity, and no independent welfare review of it is available.

Squirrel monkey perched on a lichen covered guava branch, warm light through dense green canopy.

A few rules recur across the operator listings and are worth knowing before you book. The Runners Adventures listing for the Punta Cana park states that guests with heart conditions, mobility problems, epilepsy or upper respiratory infections are not permitted, that the tour is not available to pregnant women, and that visitors should not wear sunscreen or insect repellent before the monkey interaction, since the animals make contact with skin. Comfortable clothes, a camera and cash for souvenirs round out the standard advice. Similar restrictions appear on the north coast zipline variants, where waist limits and back problems are also flagged.

How Much Do Monkeyland Puerto Plata Tours Cost?

North coast monkey tours run from $65 to $90 per person. The standalone Monkeyland Puerto Plata safari sits at $69, the Monkey Park tour with the Damajagua waterfalls at $87, the Monkeyland and zipline adventure at $90, and the short Amber Cove and Taino Bay shore excursion from $65. The $87 Monkey Park and Damajagua tour carries a 4.9 rating across 173 reviews. The $87 Monkey Park and Damajagua waterfalls tour holds 4.9 from 173 reviews. The separate $89 combo adds a MonkeyHome stop and excludes children under 8. Three listings price by group rather than per person: two Runners Adventures buggy tours at $179 each, plus the Punta Cana Monkeyland and ATV excursion from Tours By Miguel at $370. On the north coast, per person pricing still dominates, from $65 to $159. If those per person rates leave you wondering whether the stop justifies the spend, the full Monkeyland Puerto Plata verdict covers the ratings, rules, and combo options in detail.

Open safari truck moving along a wet red dirt track between steep forested slopes, mist pooling below.

The table below lines up the north coast monkey listings side by side. Durations come from the tour listings, ratings appear wherever a tour has one, and the few tours with no reviews yet are marked as such.

Listing Price Duration Rating Meal
Monkeyland Puerto Plata From $69 per person 4.5 hours 4.9 from 1,549 reviews Not stated
Monkey Park Tour and Damajagua waterfalls From $87 per person 4.5 hours 4.9 from 173 reviews Not stated
Damajagua Waterfalls & Monkey Park Combo Tour From $89 per person 4.5 hours 4.9 from 16 reviews Not stated
Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure from Puerto Plata From $90 per person 6 hours 4.9 from 403 reviews Not stated
Monkey Tour from Taino Bay & Amber Cove From $89.30 per person 2 hours No reviews yet Not stated
Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion from Amber Cove and Taino Bay From $65 per person 50 minutes 5.0 from 16 reviews Not stated

Two cost notes beyond the sticker price. Locker fees are a paid extra on several Runners Adventures tours, and souvenir photos are sold separately on almost every monkey and zipline outing. The Monkey Jungle venue near Sosua, a separate attraction you can read about in our Monkey Jungle Dominican Republic guide, charges cash-only gate admission of $50 for adults and $40 for children on its own site, which is worth knowing if you are weighing a self-drive visit against a packaged tour.

Which Monkey Tour Should You Book From Puerto Plata?

Pick the standalone Monkeyland Puerto Plata safari if you want the monkey encounter on its own, the Damajagua waterfalls pairing if you want swimming and hiking in the same day, and the zipline combo if you want the longest adventure day; cruise passengers with limited hours should take one of the port-specific listings instead. That is the short version. The longer version is that the right choice depends on where you are sleeping, how many hours you have, and whether anyone in your party is excluded by the health restrictions.

For a hotel guest in Puerto Plata city or along the Costambar to Sosua stretch, the plain Monkeyland Puerto Plata tour at 4.5 hours is the low-commitment pick, and its 4.9 rating across 1,549 reviews makes it the most reviewed pure monkey listing on the north coast. Add the Damajagua waterfalls version if your group is confident on foot: that listing is not wheelchair accessible and is not recommended for travelers with back problems, heart conditions or pregnancy, because the waterfall section involves climbing, jumping and swimming in a canyon.

For the fullest day, the Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure from Puerto Plata stacks a zipline circuit ahead of the monkey visit across 6 hours, from $90 per person, with a 4.9 rating from 403 reviews and a stated maximum waistline of 44 inches for the harness. A sibling listing, Puerto Plata: Monkeyland and Zip-Line Adventure, covers similar ground in 5 hours from the same $90 and includes lunch, rated 4.9 from 36 reviews. Our broader things to do in Puerto Plata roundup places both against the cable car, forts and beaches if you are building a multi-day plan.

Do The Puerto Plata Monkey Tours Include Pickup?

Pickup is listed on most north coast monkey tours but not on all of them: the standalone Monkeyland Puerto Plata listing and the $87 Monkey Park Tour and Damajagua waterfalls excursion do not state pickup, so transport must be confirmed on each live booking page before you book. The Samana open-air truck tour, both Monkeyland and zip-line listings from Puerto Plata and the $89 Damajagua combo all state transport. The Monkey Tour from Taino Bay and Amber Cove includes round-trip transport from the port, while the Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion covers an air-conditioned vehicle, water and entrance fees but not port transport. There is no blanket rule, and a wrong assumption here can send a shore day sideways.

Turquoise pool under a pouring cascade in a limestone canyon, wet rock shelves, helmeted figures above.

Cruise passengers get the most explicit instructions. On the Monkey Encounter + ATV Riding Adventure in Puerto Plata, Turistravels gives cruise passengers their own meeting instructions: anyone docking at Taino Bay waits at Gate 5, while Amber Cove passengers meet at the Main Exit Gate, turn left, and look for a guide holding a sign. From Taino Bay, meet your guide with a sign at the port exit. The Carlos Tours observation tour runs two hours from Taino Bay and Amber Cove, and the operator keeps an eye on cruise ship arrival and departure times, a helpful detail when your port window is tight. If you are docking rather than flying in, our Puerto Plata cruise port guide covers the port logistics, and it is worth knowing cruise passengers do not need the Dominican E-Ticket form, which applies to commercial flights only per the official entry requirements page.

The zipline pairing is worth one more look here because it splits the difference between the two worlds:

Monkeyland Or The Zipline Combo: Which Fits A North Coast Week?

The zipline combo costs $21 more than the standalone Monkeyland Puerto Plata tour, $90 against $69, and trades a 4.5 hour morning for a 6 hour day that stacks a full zipline circuit ahead of the monkey encounter; families with young children or anyone with back, heart or pregnancy restrictions should stay with the standalone tour. The combo has firm limits: not wheelchair accessible, not recommended for pregnant travelers or those with serious medical conditions, moderate fitness expected. The standalone Monkeyland Puerto Plata tour is itself wheelchair accessible and pushchair accessible, one of the few monkey tours in the Dominican Republic that is.

Timing around the week matters as much as fitness. The Monkey Jungle venue near Sosua closes on Sundays and opens 9:00 am to 4:00 pm the rest of the week, so plan that stop for any day except Sunday. Weather is the other variable: October and November are the wettest months on the north coast by typical rainfall normals, and the buggy listings state plainly that tours run rain or shine with a full refund only if cancellation is informed at least 24 hours ahead. Other pages covering the same trip are gathered on Monkeys in Dominican Republic.

Question Standalone Monkeyland tour Zipline combo
Price From $69 per person From $90 per person
Duration 4.5 hours 6 hours
Rating 4.9 from 1,549 reviews 4.9 from 403 reviews
Accessibility Wheelchair and pushchair accessible Not wheelchair accessible
Extras included Bottled water, coffee and hot chocolate samples Bottled water, professional guide, all equipment
Main exclusions Gratuities Gratuities
Zipline cables strung between platforms high in a green forest canopy

One structural note on Monkeyland ethics that comes up in every serious comparison: operators describe limited group sizes and supervised feeding, and no independent exposé, regulator statement or welfare audit of the park has been published. If animal welfare is the deciding factor for you, the honest answer is that the public record contains operator claims and little else, and our longer treatment of the question sits in the Monkeyland ethics discussion. What the listings do establish is the practical frame: the monkeys are kept, they are fed by hand, and the interaction is the product.

How Do The Cruise Port Monkey Excursions Compare?

The two port-focused listings split by length and intensity: the 50 minute Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion from $65 gets monkeys climbing on shoulders and hands in an interactive enclosure, while the 2 hour Monkey Tour from Taino Bay and Amber Cove at $89.30 per person is an observation visit in a tropical garden where touching, holding and feeding are not permitted. That difference, interaction versus observation, is the single most important line in the cruise comparison, and the two listings do not make it obvious at a glance.

The shorter excursion holds a 5.0 rating, but from only 16 reviews, so treat it as a strong start rather than a settled verdict. It lists wheelchair accessible transport, WiFi on board and an included entrance fee. On the two-hour Carlos Tours observation tour from Taino Bay and Amber Cove, children and babies pay the adult rate. The price covers round-trip transport from either port, entrance, a local guide and bottled water; a photo package is sold separately. For a port call of six to eight hours, either fits comfortably alongside a walk through the colonial quarter or a beach stop.

Feature Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion Monkey Tour from Taino Bay & Amber Cove
Price From $65 per person From $89.30 per person
Duration 50 minutes 2 hours
Contact policy Interactive: monkeys climb on visitors Observation only: no touching, holding or feeding
Rating 5.0 from 16 reviews No reviews yet
Transport Pickup listed, wheelchair accessible Pickup listed from both ports

One port-day rule worth repeating: cruise passengers do not complete the E-Ticket, since the official tourism entry requirements page exempts arrivals by cruise ship, reserving the form for commercial flights. Air arrivals into Puerto Plata do need it, filled in before the airline counter, free, with one form covering up to seven people.

What Do You Actually Do During The Monkey Visit?

A Monkeyland visit is built around a supervised feeding encounter of roughly 45 minutes to an hour in which squirrel monkeys take fruit from visitors' hands, followed on most listings by a plantation or cultural stop with coffee and cacao, and the whole thing runs inside a five-acre enclosed park with guides handling the animals' food. The official tourism portal describes visitors photographing monkeys carrying infants on their backs while guides explain the species, and the operator listings add a botanical garden walk and a typical Dominican house demonstration to the Punta Cana version.

On the north coast listings the framing is tighter. The Monkeyland Puerto Plata listing describes feeding fruit and close interaction in a group safari; the Monkey Park pairings add the Damajagua waterfalls, where around 30 minutes of swimming time is typical and water shoes, helmets and life jackets are the working equipment. The monkey interaction itself has a dress code of sorts: no sunscreen or repellent on skin beforehand, comfortable closed shoes, and nothing shiny dangling from pockets, because the monkeys are drawn to bright objects and the guides will ask you to secure them.

Bowl of fresh fruit pieces prepared for feeding monkeys on a wooden table

Cameras are generally welcome, with a caveat from the Monkey House listing further east: cameras are usable in the second part of the visit while belongings are stored during the first. Souvenir photos taken by the operator's photographers are sold separately on nearly every listing, which is how most of the shoulder-perched shots end up in your inbox. Budget a little cash for those extras and for gratuities.

Are There Cheaper Ways To See Monkeys Near Puerto Plata?

Yes: the cheapest monkey tours are the 50 minute shore excursion at $65 and the two Samana Monkeyland tours at $65. A self-drive alternative exists at Monkey Jungle near Sosua, where gate admission runs $50 for adults and $40 for children aged 3 to 11, cash only, and a combination ticket including the zip line costs $100 and $90. Those gate prices are not tour prices: they buy entry, not transport, guides or lunch. Monkey Jungle is also a different venue from Monkeyland, with its own monkeys and its own non-profit funding model through HADAC.

Comparing the two venues honestly: Monkeyland is booked through operators, includes transport on most listings, and centers on squirrel monkeys in a five-acre park. Monkey Jungle is reached independently, pays cash at the gate, runs 9:00 am to 4:00 pm, closes Sundays, and, per its homepage, sends profits to clinics serving nearby communities. Species at Monkey Jungle are not confirmed on any readable official page, so we say monkeys there, nothing more specific.

For travelers weighing self-drive against a tour, the deciding factors are usually a rental car, confidence on rural roads, and Sunday timing, since a Monkeyland operator tour may run where the Monkey Jungle gate is shut. A traveler planning a wider north coast itinerary can pair either with the 27 waterfalls of Damajagua or the Sosua beaches, and the waterfall combo listings already do that pairing for you, entrance fees and safety gear included, from $89 per person.

What Should You Know Before Booking Any Monkeyland Listing?

Read three things before paying: the health restrictions, which exclude pregnancy, heart conditions, epilepsy, upper respiratory infections and severe peanut allergies on some tours; the pickup details, which several north coast operators leave unconfirmed; and the cancellation window, which carries free cancellation on every tour here, with one buggy operator requiring 24 hours notice for a full refund. None of that is fine print in the legal sense, but it is fine print in the practical sense, and it is where plans break.

Book ahead in high season. The December through April stretch is the busiest on the north coast, and Monkey Jungle itself recommends reservations then even though it normally requires none. Hurricane season runs 1 June to 30 November, and while tours operate through ordinary rain, a named storm is a different matter; the listings' free cancellation terms are your protection there. The US State Department lists Level 2, exercise increased caution, for the Dominican Republic, which is standard advice for the region rather than a monkey-tour specific warning.

Bar chart comparing per person starting prices of six Monkeyland and monkey park tours from Puerto Plata, ranging from $65 to $90 per person.
The zipline combo at $90 costs $21 more than the standalone $69 Monkeyland tour.

The final working comparison, on the numbers that matter at checkout:

If you want... Book Why
The cheapest monkey encounter Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion $65, 50 minutes, 5.0 from 16 reviews
The most reviewed north coast listing Monkeyland Puerto Plata 4.9 from 1,549 reviews, from $69
Monkeys plus swimming Monkey Park and Damajagua waterfalls Waterfall gear included, from $87
The longest adventure day Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure 6 hours, from $90, 4.9 from 403 reviews
A strict observation visit Monkey Tour from Taino Bay & Amber Cove No touching or feeding, from $89.30

Whatever you choose, book it for early in your stay rather than the last day: a weather reset is far easier to absorb with three days left than with one.

Common Questions About Monkeyland Puerto Plata Tours

Is Monkeyland In Puerto Plata The Same Park As Monkeyland In Punta Cana?

No. Monkeyland is a brand used at Punta Cana, Puerto Plata and Samana, and each is a separate visit with different durations, prices and departure areas. The Punta Cana park sits in the Anamuya hills on five acres; the Puerto Plata listings depart from the north coast. All of them feature squirrel monkeys kept in an enclosed park.

How Much Does A Monkeyland Puerto Plata Tour Cost?

Monkey tours on the north coast cost between $65 and $90 per person. The standalone Monkeyland Puerto Plata tour starts at $69, the waterfall pairing at $87, the zipline combo at $90, and the 50 minute cruise port interaction excursion at $65.

Do Monkeys Climb On You At Monkeyland Puerto Plata?

Listings describe encounters where monkeys take food from visitors' hands and, on the interactive shore excursion, climb onto shoulders, hands or heads for photos. Outcomes vary with the animals, the group and the day, so no listing is a guarantee of a specific behavior.

Can Pregnant Travelers Or People With Heart Conditions Join?

Generally no. The Runners Adventures listings state the tours are not available to pregnant women and exclude guests with heart conditions, epilepsy, mobility problems or upper respiratory infections. The zipline combos add back-problem warnings and a 44 inch maximum waistline for harnesses.

Is Pickup Included On The Puerto Plata Monkey Tours?

On most but not all. The standalone Monkeyland Puerto Plata listing, the Monkey Park and Damajagua waterfalls listing and the Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure listing do not confirm pickup, while the port tours and the Damajagua combo listing do include round-trip transport. Check the live listing for your specific tour.

Are There Wild Monkeys In Puerto Plata?

No. The Dominican Republic has no native wild monkeys; the only monkey native to Hispaniola, the Hispaniola monkey, is extinct and known only from fossils. Every monkey experience on this page involves animals kept in a park.