Monkeyland Samana Tours: What Is On Offer

Samana has two bookable Monkeyland listings, both from $65 per person, plus La Romana and Bayahibe options a few hours south. Here is what each one actually includes.

Safari truck parked on red dirt among cacao drying racks and royal palms, forested slopes behind.

Short answer

Two listings sell the Samana Monkeyland visit: a 1-hour shared adventure from $65 per person and a 4-hour open-air safari truck tour, also from $65 per person. Both are Runners Adventures products. The shared adventure includes the monkeys' food; hotel pickup is not stated for it, so confirm on the booking page, while the truck tour includes park admission, the ride and hotel pickup.

Samana is the quietest corner of the Dominican monkey-tour map. Punta Cana stacks up more than a dozen options and Puerto Plata runs its own set, while the Samana peninsula offers exactly two bookable Monkeyland tours, both from $65 per person, both run by Runners Adventures, the same company behind the big Punta Cana lineup. That scarcity is actually useful: the choice reduces to how long you want the visit to run and whether you want transport woven in.

There is one background fact worth setting straight before anything else. The Dominican Republic has no native wild monkeys. The only monkey native to Hispaniola, the Hispaniola monkey, is extinct and known from cave fossils, per the paleontological record summarized at Wikipedia's page on the species. Every monkey experience on this page, Samana included, is a visit to a park where squirrel monkeys are kept. The official Dominican tourism portal describes the original Punta Cana Monkeyland as a five-acre countryside park on its Monkeyland things-to-do page, and the Samana version follows the same model: a guided walk among habituated animals, not a wild sighting.

What Monkeyland Samana Tours Are Available?

Two listings cover Monkeyland Samana: the Monkeyland Samana Shared Adventure, a 1-hour guided visit from $65 per person with the monkeys' food included. Hotel pickup is not stated for this one, so check the live booking page for meeting point details. Runners Adventures also runs the Samana Monkeyland and Open-Air Safari Truck Tour, rated 3.7 across 12 reviews, a 4-hour option from $65 per person that bundles the truck ride with park admission, and pickup is listed on its live booking page. Both are Runners Adventures products, and both carry free cancellation on their listings.

Neither listing has enough reviews for a star rating to mean anything. The shared adventure has 3 reviews at 5 out of 5, while the safari truck tour has 12 reviews and averages 3.7. That is not a red flag about the park, which is the same operator family running the 4.9-from-1,549-review Monkeyland Puerto Plata, but it does mean Samana buyers are shopping on description and price rather than on a review pool.

The shared adventure describes a close interaction where a family of squirrel monkeys takes food from a fruit bowl or from visitors' hands. The monkeys' food is included in the price, which matters: on some other tours you buy nothing extra, but on none of them is feeding guaranteed beyond what the guide arranges on the day. The listing also notes wheelchair accessibility and that infants sit on laps, unusual among monkey tours, where most listings exclude wheelchairs entirely.

The safari truck tour is the fuller product. Its inclusions are Monkeyland admission and the open-air safari truck ride, and its exclusions list only personal expenses and tips. One restriction does real work for planners: this tour runs only from Samana City, and Punta Cana visitors are directed to book a Punta Cana Monkeyland product instead. If your hotel is in Punta Cana and you were eyeing this listing for the price, the operator is telling you it will not fit your day.

The table below lays the two side by side, field by field.

Listing Price Duration Pickup Rating What is included
Monkeyland Samana Shared Adventure From $65 per person 1 hour Pickup listed No rating (3 reviews) Monkeys' food; public transportation
Samana Monkeyland and Open-Air Safari Truck Tour From $65 per person 4 hours Pickup NOT confirmed No rating (no reviews) Monkeyland admission; open-air safari truck ride

For readers planning a wider peninsula trip, the Samana travel guide covers the rest of the region, and the general Monkeyland Dominican Republic primer explains how the same brand name appears at Punta Cana, Puerto Plata and Samana with different products behind it.

How Much Do Monkeyland Samana Tours Cost?

Both Samana tours start at $65 per person, the lowest Monkeyland price of any departure point. The Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion from Amber Cove and Taino Bay matches that figure, also from $65. The La Romana Monkeyland tour costs from $95 per person, and Punta Cana versions run from $95 to $209 depending on the combination.

The price gap between regions is the single biggest planner fact on this page. A family comparing a Samana base against a Punta Cana base is looking at $65 versus $95 per person for the core monkey visit, before any zipline or buggy add-ons. The most reviewed listing on the whole site, the Adventure Bundle with Monkeyland, ziplines and buggies at Punta Cana, runs from $209 per person, more than three times the Samana shared adventure, though it packs a 9.5-hour day with lunch.

Bar chart comparing starting Monkeyland tour prices by region: $65 for Samana and Amber Cove, $90 for Puerto Plata, $95 for La Romana and Punta Cana, and $209 for the Punta Cana adventure bundle.
Both Samana listings start at $65 per person, below the $95 Punta Cana entry.

What the $65 buys differs between the two Samana listings, and the difference is worth more than the identical headline number suggests. The shared adventure is one hour at the park with food for the monkeys included; transport appears in its inclusions as public transportation, so plan on arranging your own way to the meeting point unless the operator confirms otherwise at booking. The safari truck tour runs four hours, with the open-air ride itself part of the experience. Its listing does show pickup, so read the booking page for the exact pickup point and time that applies to you.

A squirrel monkey perched alone on a wet wooden platform beneath hanging vines, layered forest behind.

Budget beyond the ticket, too. Neither Samana listing includes a meal, and the safari truck listing names tips and personal expenses as extras. Cash on the day remains good practice in Samana, where small extras are not always included in the tour price.

What Is The El Limon Meeting Point Like?

The Monkeyland Samana Shared Adventure listing names its meeting point as Monkeyland Samana, El Limon 32000, a rural district inland on the Samana peninsula. The Samana Shared Adventure meets at Monkeyland Samana in El Limon. Pickup is not stated, so confirm on the booking page. It meets at Monkeyland Samana in El Limon and lists public transport as an option, so confirm transport on the live booking page. The open-air safari truck tour lists hotel pickup; the shared adventure doesn't state pickup and meets at the Monkeyland site in El Limon, so confirm on the live booking page.

El Limon is best known to peninsula visitors for its waterfall, which makes the district a natural pairing: the guide to Monkeyland tours across the regions notes that Samana itineraries often stack the monkey visit with waterfall trips. The listing gives a postal-style address rather than a hotel pickup window, which fits the product's one-hour shape: you arrive, you meet the guide, you spend time with the animals, you leave.

Country road winding through palm-covered hills in the Samana peninsula

Practical consequences follow from the address-based setup. Cruise passengers calling at Samana should check the excursion length against their ship's schedule before booking a shared adventure with no confirmed pickup; if timing slips, the missed return falls on you rather than the operator. The operator's own restriction text on the safari truck listing says plainly that Punta Cana guests should book the Punta Cana product, and the same logic applies in reverse: the meeting point is reachable from Samana City and peninsula hotels, not from another coast.

Bring what any monkey visit calls for. Runners Adventures asks visitors not to wear sunscreen or insect repellent before the interaction, and the same operator runs Samana, so expect the request to carry over. Comfortable clothes, closed shoes and a camera cover most of it.

Is The Open-Air Safari Truck Tour Better Than The Shared Adventure?

The safari truck tour suits visitors who want the ride to be part of the day: four hours, Monkeyland admission and the open-air truck circuit included, from $65 per person. The shared adventure suits visitors short on time or already moving around the peninsula on their own, one hour with the monkeys and their food provided, also from $65.

Neither is objectively better; they answer different itineraries. The truck tour turns the transfer into scenery, which matters in a region whose hills and coastline are half the reason people stay in Samana. Its listing warns that shiny objects attract the monkeys and should be secured, a small detail that tells you the interaction is genuinely close: the animals come to you, and the operator manages what is within reach.

The shared adventure, meanwhile, is the shortest monkey product anywhere on this site. At one hour, it slots between a morning whale-watching run and an afternoon at Playa Rincon in a way a four-hour block cannot. Its listing includes the monkeys' food in the price, so the feeding moment the brochures trade on is already paid for rather than an on-site purchase.

A side-by-side comparison of the practical details:

Question Shared Adventure Safari Truck Tour
How long? 1 hour 4 hours
Transport Public transportation listed Open-air safari truck ride listed; pickup not confirmed
Food for monkeys Included Not stated
Park admission Implied in product Listed as included
Accessibility notes Wheelchair accessible; infants on laps Wear comfortable walking clothes; secure shiny objects
Free cancellation Listed Listed
Monkey on a branch with lush green Samaná hills in the distance

For the fullest Runners Adventures monkey day in the north, some visitors cross-shop the Monkeyland and zipline adventure from Puerto Plata, a 6-hour product from $90 per person rated 4.9 from 403 reviews, though reaching it from Samana means a long transfer each way.

Can You Visit Monkeyland Samana From Punta Cana?

No, not through the Samana listings. The safari truck tour's own restriction text states it is operated only from Samana City and directs Punta Cana guests to the Punta Cana Monkeyland products. Punta Cana visitors should book one of the six Punta Cana listings instead, from $95 per person for the plantation safari up to $209 for the full adventure bundle.

The geography explains the operator's bluntness. Samana sits on the northeast peninsula, separated from the Punta Cana resort strip by hours of road, and a one-hour monkey visit cannot absorb that transit in either direction. Punta Cana guests lose nothing by this. The original five-acre Monkeyland park in the Anamuya hills remains the flagship, reached through a deeper lineup that includes the featured Monkeyland and Plantation Safari Tour, rated 4.8 across 4,865 reviews from $95 per person, and the Monkeyland and zipline combination from $130.

There is one honest crossover worth naming. Travelers staying between the two regions, around La Romana, Bayahibe or Juan Dolio, can reach either coast's Monkeyland, and the La Romana and Bayahibe Monkeyland guide maps those listings in detail. The La Romana plantation safari, from $95 per person, is the same product rated 4.6 across 77 reviews in the comparison on this page, and the Juan Dolio full-day version at $95 per person adds a typical Dominican buffet lunch.

Signpost on a coastal road in the eastern Dominican Republic with palm trees

The decision table for anyone weighing a two-base trip:

Your base Cheapest monkey listing Price Duration
Samana City or peninsula Monkeyland Samana Shared Adventure From $65 per person 1 hour
Samana, wanting a fuller day Samana Safari Truck Tour From $65 per person 4 hours
La Romana Monkeyland and Plantation Safari from La Romana From $95 per person 4 hours
Bayahibe From Bayahibe: Half Day Monkeyland Safari From $95 per person 5.5 hours
Juan Dolio Monkeyland and Plantation Safari Full Day From $95 per person 7 hours
Punta Cana Monkeyland and Plantation Safari from Punta Cana From $95 per person 6 hours

What Do The La Romana And Bayahibe Monkeyland Tours Include?

The La Romana plantation safari, from $95 per person for 4 hours, includes hotel pickup and drop-off, a local and professional guide and bottled water, and is rated 4.6 from 77 reviews. The Bayahibe half-day safari, from $95 per person for 5.5 hours, adds an open-air safari truck, lunch and Monkeyland entry, while the Juan Dolio full day includes a Dominican buffet lunch.

These southern listings are the natural fallback for anyone who cannot reach Samana but likes the smaller-scale feel. All three are Runners Adventures products, so the monkey stop works the same way in each case: squirrel monkeys taking fruit from visitors' hands under a guide's supervision. The differences are duration, lunch and the transport style.

For La Romana and Bayahibe tours, check the exclusions on each listing before you book. Two health restrictions recur and should be read before booking rather than after. The Bayahibe listing bars people with a cold or flu from the Monkeyland interaction, along with people with severe peanut allergies. The La Romana listing follows the standard Runners pattern: not recommended for pregnant travelers, travelers with back problems or heart conditions, and not wheelchair accessible.

Squirrel monkey reaching for a banana in a keeper's open palm, dense forest canopy behind.

The full southern lineup in one place:

Listing Departs Price Duration Lunch Rating
Monkeyland and Plantation Safari from La Romana La Romana From $95 per person 4 hours Not stated 4.6 from 77 reviews
Monkeyland and Plantation Safari Full Day Juan Dolio From $95 per person 7 hours Dominican buffet 4.9 from 128 reviews
From Bayahibe: Half Day Monkeyland Safari Bayahibe From $95 per person 5.5 hours Lunch/snack 4.5 from 182 reviews

What Should You Know Before Booking A Samana Monkey Tour?

Check three things before you pay: whether your accommodation is inside the pickup area the operator actually serves, since the Monkeyland Samana Shared Adventure does not state hotel pickup (it meets at Monkeyland Samana in El Limon) while the open-air safari truck tour does list pickup; whether anyone in your party falls under the health restrictions the operator lists; and whether the small review pools on the Samana listings bother you, 3.7 from 12 reviews and 5.0 from 3 respectively, against 4.8 across 4,865 for the flagship Punta Cana product.

The honest framing first. No independent welfare review covers any of these parks. The claims about limited group sizes and animal care come from the operators themselves, and the absence of an exposé is not the same as an audit. Visitors who want to dig into that question can read the ethics discussion of Punta Cana Monkeyland, which lays out the operator claims and the gaps side by side.

Weather is the second practical check. The Atlantic hurricane season runs from 1 June to 30 November, according to the NOAA National Hurricane Center, and the Bayahibe buggy tour runs rain or shine, a common stance. October is the wettest month in the region's typical rainfall tables, so a morning booking with afternoon flexibility is the usual pattern for peninsula excursions.

Money matters are simple here. Prices are in US dollars, cash still pays for tips and photos along the way, and every tour on this page can be cancelled free of charge if your plans change. Entry formalities will not usually touch a Samana day-tripper, but flying visitors need the free E-Ticket form completed before the airline counter; the E-Ticket guide for tourists covers the rules, including that cruise passengers do not need it.

A final word on the name itself. Monkeyland is a brand applied by Runners Adventures and partners at Punta Cana, Puerto Plata and Samana, and the Samana park is a smaller sibling rather than a copy. Visitors comparing the two coasts on animal-welfare or experience grounds should compare listings, not logos: duration, group handling and the rules printed on each product page are the observable facts, and the Monkeyland versus Monkey Jungle comparison shows how different parks behind similar marketing can be. For the site's full take across every region, Monkeys in Dominican Republic gathers the lot in one comparison.

Common Questions About Monkeyland Samana Tours

Is Monkeyland Samana The Same Park As Monkeyland Punta Cana?

No. They share the brand and the operator family, Runners Adventures, but they are separate parks on different coasts. The Punta Cana park is the five-acre original described on the official tourism portal; the Samana park is a smaller peninsula location reached through its own listings.

Can I Book The Samana Monkeyland Tour If I Stay In Punta Cana?

The safari truck listing states the tour is operated only from Samana City and directs Punta Cana guests to the Punta Cana products instead, which start at $95 per person for the plantation safari.

Do The Samana Monkeyland Tours Include Pickup?

The shared adventure states no pickup, only public transport, so confirm on the booking page; the open-air safari truck tour lists pickup. Confirm details on the booking page. Arrange transport to the El Limon meeting area yourself or confirm the details with the operator before booking.

Are The Samana Monkey Tours Suitable For Children?

The shared adventure listing states infants must sit on laps and that most travelers can participate, and it is wheelchair accessible. Check the operator's current age guidance at booking, as age policies can differ between operators.

Are There Reviews For The Samana Monkeyland Tours?

Yes, though the pool is small: the shared adventure has a 5.0 rating from 3 reviews, and the safari truck tour sits at 3.7 from 12. For a rated Runners Adventures monkey product, the Puerto Plata Monkeyland holds 4.9 from 1,549 reviews.