Puerto Plata Cruise Port: Amber Cove Or Taino Bay?

Ships calling at Puerto Plata arrive at one of two ports: Amber Cove or Taino Bay. The one you dock at changes which monkey excursions are realistic on a port day.

Cruise ship anchored at a tropical port with palm trees and calm turquoise water

Short answer

Amber Cove and Taino Bay are the two cruise ports near Puerto Plata. Monkey excursions run from both: from $65 per person for a 50-minute interaction, from $89.30 for a 2-hour monkey park visit, and from $69 for the half-day Monkeyland Puerto Plata tour. Cruise passengers do not need the Dominican Republic E-Ticket.

Ships calling at Puerto Plata tie up at one of two cruise ports: Amber Cove, the purpose-built cruise terminal at Maimon about 24 km west of the city, or Taino Bay, the older pier that sits within sight of the malecón downtown. Which one you get changes your day more than most passengers expect, because it changes travel times, the excursions that meet you at the gate, and how much margin you have if the ship is late.

For visitors whose main goal is monkeys, the north coast is the strongest cruise destination in the country. The monkey interaction shore excursion from Amber Cove and Taino Bay runs from $65 per person for a 50-minute encounter and holds a 5.0 rating from 16 reviews, and a 2-hour sanctuary tour from both ports runs from $89.30. There is also a same-family alternative on our tours from Amber Cove and Taino Bay page. One planning fact worth knowing immediately: cruise passengers do not need the Dominican Republic's E-Ticket form, which applies to commercial flights, a point the official entry requirements page states plainly.

Safari truck idling at a forest edge with bananas stacked in its rear tray, green hills behind.

Which Port Will Your Ship Use: Amber Cove Or Taino Bay?

The port depends entirely on your cruise line and ship, not on your preference. Amber Cove serves most major lines' larger vessels, while Taino Bay, closer to downtown Puerto Plata, serves others. Both ports sit near Puerto Plata on the north coast, roughly a short drive apart, and both host monkey excursions that meet passengers at the gate.

Amber Cove is a dedicated cruise resort port with its own beaches, pools and shops, built so passengers can step off the ship into an amenity zone without leaving the terminal. Taino Bay is the city-side pier: walk out of the gate and you are in Puerto Plata itself, near the malecón and the cable car up Mount Isabel de Torres. Neither port is "better" for monkeys on its own, because the excursions serve both, but Taino Bay's position shortens the drive to anything in town, while Amber Cove sits at Maimon west of the city, so the same trips start with a longer ride in.

The practical difference shows up in the meeting instructions operators publish. The Puerto Plata Monkey Tour from Taino Bay & Amber Cove lists pickup from both ports. The Monkey Encounter + ATV Riding Adventure from Puerto Plata, run by Turistravels, lists its meeting point as Gate 5 at Taino Bay or the main exit gate at Amber Cove. A guide waits there holding a sign. Pickup is not stated for the Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion from Amber Cove and Taino Bay, so confirm details on the live booking page; the tour includes free cancellation. Before booking anything, check which port your itinerary names, then match it against the tour's pickup description rather than assuming.

Amber Cove Taino Bay
Position West of Puerto Plata city at Maimon, purpose-built cruise terminal At the edge of downtown Puerto Plata
Character Self-contained cruise resort with pools, beach and shops City pier, walkable to the malecón
Monkey tours from the gate Interaction excursion and 2-hour sanctuary tour Same two tours, meeting point at Gate #5
Typical meeting point Main exit gate Gate #5

If your ship's port is not printed on your booking, ask the cruise line directly. Port assignments can shift with ship size and schedule, and an excursion booked for the wrong pier eats your margin on a day where the ship's departure time is fixed.

How Far Is The Monkey Park From Each Cruise Port?

The interaction excursions from both ports reach the monkey sanctuary in well under an hour, with the shortest option listing just 50 minutes of total tour time from $65 per person. The half-day Monkeyland Puerto Plata tour lists 4 hours 30 minutes from $69 per person. Exact drive times are not stated on the listings, so treat timing, not distance, as the planning number.

US, UK, EU and Canadian visitors only need a passport valid for the length of their stay. There are no wild monkeys to visit anywhere in the Dominican Republic: the island's only native primate, the Hispaniola monkey, is extinct, a fact the paleontological record documents from cave fossils. Every monkey experience on this coast is a visit to a park where monkeys are kept, and the listings describe encounters where squirrel monkeys take food from visitors' hands or are observed in a garden setting. That distinction does not make the visits less enjoyable, it just means you are booking a managed park visit, not a safari.

The three port-based options time out very differently. The Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion is a 50-minute experience in an interactive enclosure, where monkeys may climb onto shoulders or hands for photos. The 2-hour Monkey Tour from Taino Bay & Amber Cove is strictly an observation experience: touching, holding or feeding the animals is not permitted. The Monkeyland Puerto Plata tour runs 4 hours 30 minutes, with feeding and interaction at the five-acre monkey park plus hot chocolate and coffee samples, though its listing does not confirm pickup, so cruise passengers should check transport against the ship's schedule before relying on it.

Between the three, the choice is really about how much of the day you want to spend. A 50-minute interaction leaves the whole rest of the port day free for Amber Cove's pools or Puerto Plata's cable car. A 4.5-hour sanctuary tour consumes the core of the day and fits best on a long call.

Wooden dock with small boats and green hills across a bay

For readers who want the wider picture of the parks before committing, the guide to Monkeyland tours from Puerto Plata breaks down every listing that departs the north coast, including some that only make sense for hotel guests.

Which Monkey Excursions Can You Actually Book From The Port?

Three tours serve Amber Cove and Taino Bay passengers directly: the 50-minute monkey interaction from $65, the 2-hour observation tour from $89.30, and the 4-hour monkey encounter and ATV ride from $159. One caution: the Monkeyland Puerto Plata tour, from $69, is sold directly to hotel guests, but cruise passengers cannot book it on their own. If you arrive by ship, you can only buy it through your cruise line. Each lists free cancellation, and each fits a standard port day.

The third option also runs straight from the Amber Cove and Taino Bay cruise ports. The Monkey Park Tour and Damajagua Waterfalls in Puerto Plata, rated 4.9 from 173 reviews and from $87 per person, pairs the monkey park with the famous waterfalls. The Monkey Park Tour and Damajagua Waterfalls, $87 and rated 4.9 across 173 reviews, is distinct from the $89 Damajagua Waterfalls & Monkey Park Combo, the one that stops at MonkeyHome sanctuary and is not suitable for children under 8. Only one listing confirms pickup, which matters when your ship sails at a fixed hour. The Damajagua Waterfalls & Monkey Park Combo Tour from $89 per person lists round-trip transportation, entrance fees for both attractions, and safety equipment. It also carries a 4.9 rating from 16 reviews.

The featured excursion on this page is the Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion itself: 5.0 from 16 reviews, from $65 per person, 50 minutes, with bottled water, WiFi and an air-conditioned vehicle listed, and wheelchair-accessible transport noted in the restrictions. For a short port call or a family with limited patience for bus transfers, it is the lowest-commitment monkey experience on the north coast. Check availability alongside the full tour page before you sail.

One more comparison worth making: the 2-hour tour lists observation only, so travelers who specifically want to feed a monkey from a hand should read the interaction excursion's description instead. The rules are not interchangeable between parks, and the listings state them per product.

Listing Duration Price Rating Cruise pickup
Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion 50 minutes From $65 per person 5.0 from 16 reviews Listed, both ports
Monkey Tour from Taino Bay & Amber Cove 2 hours From $89.30 per person No reviews yet Listed, both ports
Monkeyland Puerto Plata 4 hours 30 minutes From $69 per person 4.9 from 1,549 reviews Pickup not confirmed
Monkey Park and Damajagua Waterfalls 4 hours 30 minutes From $87 per person 4.9 from 173 reviews Pickup not confirmed

Can You Visit Monkeyland Puerto Plata On A Cruise Day?

Yes, in principle: the Monkeyland Puerto Plata tour runs 4 hours 30 minutes from $69 per person with a 4.9 rating from 1,549 reviews, but its listing does not confirm pickup, and cruise passengers cannot book it independently: they can only buy it through their cruise line. On a short call it is tight; on a full-day call it fits.

The tour itself, operated by Runners Adventures, describes visitors feeding squirrel monkeys fruit and interacting closely in a sanctuary environment, with hot chocolate and coffee samples listed among the inclusions. The tour is not recommended for pregnant travelers or anyone with back problems, and it is wheelchair accessible, a rare feature among monkey tours. Port pickup is not guaranteed, and a 4.5-hour block plus transfer only works if your ship is in port long enough. Cruise lines generally ask passengers back aboard before sailing. The Carlos Tours shore excursion out of Taino Bay and Amber Cove, two hours long, is the only listing whose operator says it monitors ship arrival and departure times. No tour here guarantees a return time; only the Carlos Tours 2-hour tour says it monitors ship arrival and departure times. Carlos Tours runs the 2-hour Monkey Tour from Taino Bay and Amber Cove at $89.30 per person. The Carlos Tours listing notes that the operator monitors cruise ship arrival and departure times.

For a deeper look at what the visit involves, the Monkeyland Puerto Plata tours guide covers the half-day format, the rules the operator states, and how the Puerto Plata park relates to the Punta Cana one of the same name. "Monkeyland" is a name used by operators at several destinations, and the same brand runs different products: the Punta Cana half-day safari is 5 to 5.5 hours from $95, while the Puerto Plata version is 4.5 hours from $69, so never assume the descriptions transfer between coasts.

Squirrel monkey on a wet timber rail of a forest walkway with heliconia and dense green canopy behind

Do Cruise Passengers Need The Dominican Republic E-Ticket?

No. The official entry requirements state that passengers arriving on cruise ships do not need the E-Ticket electronic form, which is mandatory only for passengers on commercial flights. Cruise passengers use the physical Customs Declaration and International Embarkation/Disembarkation forms instead. If you fly in before or after the cruise, the E-Ticket applies to those flights.

The E-Ticket is free, covers both entry and exit, and one form can cover up to 7 people traveling together as a family or group. It no longer needs to be completed 72 hours in advance: the tourism ministry's page says it can be filled out as soon as flight details exist, even months ahead, but must be done before reaching the airline check-in counter. For a pure cruise passenger arriving and leaving by ship, none of this applies, which removes one piece of paperwork from the port day entirely.

Passport rules do still apply at the port. The standard requirement is six months of validity, though an exceptional measure in force until 31 December 2026 lets nationals of the US, Canada, the UK, the EU and several other countries enter for tourism with a passport valid simply for the duration of the stay. Canada's own travel advice confirms the same for Canadians.

How Much Time Do You Need For Each Monkey Excursion?

Match the tour length to your ship's hours in port, not the other way around. The 50-minute interaction fits even a half-day call, the 2-hour tour fits most calls, and the 4.5-hour options need a full-day port visit with buffer. Aim to be back at the pier at least an hour before sailing, since no listing guarantees departure timing against your ship.

Cruise days punish optimism. The port-adjacent excursions are built for this, which is why their durations are short: 50 minutes, 2 hours, then a jump to 4.5 hours for the sanctuary and waterfall tours. A useful rule of thumb is to add transfer time both ways on top of the listed duration, plus the meeting-point walk from the ship, and compare the total against the time between docking and the all-aboard call. Where a listing states no pickup, as with Monkeyland Puerto Plata and the Monkey Park and Damajagua tour, add the cost and the scheduling risk of arranging your own transport from the port.

Ship in port for Realistic options Why
5 hours or less 50-minute interaction; 2-hour observation tour Short durations leave return margin
6 to 8 hours Above plus Damajagua combo from $89 Waterfalls add roughly half a day
9 hours or more Monkeyland Puerto Plata from $69, 4.5 hours Full-day calls absorb tour plus transfers

The hurricane-season calendar is worth a glance when you book an autumn sailing. The season runs 1 June to 30 November, and while tours generally operate regardless of a passing shower, a storm in the basin can reshape itineraries entirely. Every monkey tour from the port includes free cancellation, which is what makes booking ahead of your ship day low risk.

Waterfall pouring over pale limestone ledges into turquoise pools in a fern hung jungle canyon

What Does A Monkey Excursion From The Port Cost?

Port-based monkey excursions run from $65 to $89.30 per person for the short options and from $69 to $89 for the half-day tours, all listed per person. The cheapest listing on this site is the 50-minute interaction at $65 per person; the most expensive port-day monkey option is the observation tour at $89.30 per person.

Prices here are tour prices, covering the full booked experience rather than gate entry alone. That distinction matters on the north coast because one venue sells direct admission: Monkey Jungle in Sosua charges $50 for adults aged 12 and up and $40 for children aged 3 to 11, cash only, per its official site, with a zip line at $80 and $70 and a combination ticket at $100 and $90. Those gate prices cover entry only, with no transport, but for a passenger with independent transport and a full-day call, they undercut every tour price on this page.

Option Price basis What it covers
Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion From $65 per person 50-minute encounter, transport, water
Monkey Tour from Taino Bay & Amber Cove From $89.30 per person 2-hour observation visit, transport, guide, entrance
Monkeyland Puerto Plata From $69 per person 4.5-hour sanctuary tour, coffee and chocolate samples
Monkey Park and Damajagua Waterfalls From $87 per person Monkey park plus waterfalls, safety gear in water
Monkey Jungle gate (Sosua) $50 adult, $40 child, cash Admission only, no transport

Note also what is not included across the listings: gratuities appear as exclusions on nearly every line, photos are frequently a separate purchase, and the Monkeyland listing warns of a locker fee. Budget a margin beyond the sticker price and the day stops surprising you. For the full pricing picture across the country, the Monkeyland tickets and prices guide compares coasts and formats.

What If Your Ship Docks Elsewhere On The North Coast?

Most north-coast ships use Amber Cove or Taino Bay, but passengers with independent plans also reach Monkey Jungle in Sosua, open 9:00 am to 4:00 pm and closed Sundays, and Samana-based sailings can use the Monkeyland Samana tour from $65 per person for a 1-hour interaction. Each suits a different kind of port call.

Monkey Jungle, per its official homepage, takes cash, requires no reservations outside high season, and puts its profits toward the HADAC non-profit organization, which runs medical and dental clinics for local communities. The venue sits between Sosua and Cabarete, a drive from Puerto Plata's ports, so it is a hotel-stay or private-transport play more than a cruise-day one. Our Sosua guide covers the town context.

Samana is a different itinerary altogether, reached by ships calling on the peninsula's own port. The Monkeyland Samana Shared Adventure, from $65 per person for 1 hour, has only 3 reviews, too few for a star claim. Its listing includes public transportation and the monkeys' food. Hotel pickup is not stated, so confirm on the booking page. A 4-hour Samana Monkeyland and Open-Air Safari Truck Tour from $65 per person also exists, departing from Samana, with pickup listed on the live booking page. If your sailing calls at Samana instead of Puerto Plata, those are the listings to read.

For cruise passengers weighing the whole country, Monkeys in Dominican Republic compares listings from every coast: the Punta Cana parks, the north coast sanctuaries, and the Samana options side by side. The featured Punta Cana listing, the Monkeyland and Plantation Safari Tour, runs 6 hours from $95 per person with a 4.8 rating from 4,865 reviews, a useful benchmark for what the east coast charges for a fuller day.

Which Port Day Monkey Excursion Should You Pick?

Pick the 50-minute interaction excursion for short calls or first-time monkey visitors, the 2-hour observation tour if you prefer not to touch animals, the Damajagua combo if waterfalls are the goal, and Monkeyland Puerto Plata only on a full-day call. All four list free cancellation, and prices run from $65 to $89.30 per person.

The decision comes down to three honest questions. How many hours does the ship actually stay? That single number cuts the options in half before your preferences even come into play. Does anyone in the party need to touch or feed a monkey, or is observing enough? The listings differ sharply on this, and the 2-hour tour's no-touching rule is explicit. And is anyone pregnant, managing a heart condition, or under treatment for mobility limits? Operator rules, stated in the Runners Adventures listings, exclude pregnant women and people with heart conditions, epilepsy or upper respiratory infections from the Monkeyland interaction, and ask visitors not to wear sunscreen or repellent before meeting the monkeys.

Comparison table of four monkey tours from Amber Cove and Taino Bay showing duration, price, rating, and cruise pickup status.
The two 4 hours 30 minutes tours do not confirm cruise pickup, so verify transport before booking.

For most port days, the short interaction tour is the pragmatic pick: it is the cheapest verified listing on the site, it is wheelchair accessible per its restrictions, and it leaves hours for Amber Cove's pools or a walk along the Puerto Plata malecón. The half-day tours reward passengers with long calls who want the countryside, the plantation stops and the fuller story, not just the monkeys. Whichever way you lean, read the listing's own restrictions and inclusions before booking, because they, not any guide, are the contract.

Common Questions About The Puerto Plata Cruise Port

Which Port Will My Cruise Ship Use, Amber Cove Or Taino Bay?

It depends on your cruise line and ship, not on you. Amber Cove is the purpose-built cruise terminal at Maimon, west of Puerto Plata city; Taino Bay is the downtown pier. Check your itinerary or ask the cruise line, then match the port against your excursion's pickup description.

How Far Is The Monkey Park From The Cruise Port?

The listings do not state drive distances or times, so plan by tour duration instead: 50 minutes for the interaction excursion, 2 hours for the observation tour, and 4 hours 30 minutes for the Monkeyland Puerto Plata and Damajagua options.

What Is The Cheapest Monkey Excursion From Puerto Plata's Ports?

The Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion from Amber Cove and Taino Bay, from $65 per person for 50 minutes, is the cheapest verified listing on this site. It holds a 5.0 rating from 16 reviews.

Can You Feed The Monkeys On A Port-day Tour?

It depends on the listing. The interaction excursion describes monkeys taking food and climbing on visitors; the 2-hour Monkey Tour from Taino Bay & Amber Cove explicitly prohibits touching, holding or feeding the animals. Read each listing's rules before choosing.

Is Monkey Jungle In Sosua An Option From The Cruise Port?

Only with your own transport and a long call. Monkey Jungle charges $50 for adults and $40 for children in cash, is open 9:00 am to 4:00 pm, and is closed Sundays. The port-based tours include transport; the gate price does not.