Hotels Near Monkeyland Punta Cana

Monkeyland sits in the Anamuya hills inland from Punta Cana, and almost every tour there sells itself on hotel pickup. That makes the area you sleep in the single biggest practical decision in the booking.

Palm-lined resort road in the Bavaro hotel zone near Punta Cana at midday

Short answer

Most Monkeyland tours from Punta Cana run from $95 per person and include hotel pickup and drop-off. The pickup window for the half-day safari runs between 7:00 AM and 8:10 AM for morning departures. Staying anywhere in the Bavaro hotel strip, Punta Cana itself or Uvero Alto puts you inside the pickup zones of the main listings.

Monkeyland is a five-acre park in the Anamuya hills inland from Punta Cana, and it has no standalone booking office you can walk up to: visitors reach the squirrel monkeys kept there through tour operators, and nearly every one of those operators sells the trip on hotel pickup. That fact does more than any amenity to decide where you should sleep. A hotel in the Bavaro strip, in Punta Cana proper, or up in Uvero Alto puts you squarely inside the pickup zones of the biggest listings, including the Monkeyland and Plantation Safari Tour from Punta Cana at $95 per person, rated 4.8 across 4,865 reviews. A hotel outside those zones means a meeting point, a longer morning, or a different tour category altogether. And if you're curious about the wider wildlife picture beyond the monkeys, our guide to what animal Punta Cana is famous for covers the whales, iguanas, and birds you might also encounter on the island.

This guide works through the question the way a planner actually asks it: which area, which tour, which pickup window, and what changes if you are staying on a cruise schedule or on the north coast instead. Every price, duration and pickup fact below comes from the tour listings themselves, and hotel advice stays at the level of zones and pickup coverage, because pickup eligibility is the part the listings actually promise.

Where Should You Stay In Punta Cana For Monkeyland Pickup?

The answer is the Bavaro hotel strip or Punta Cana resort zone, with Uvero Alto also covered by at least one listed tour. The Monkeyland and Plantation Safari Tour from Punta Cana lists hotel pickup and drop-off among its inclusions, as does the half-day safari at the same from $95 price. One listing, the Monkeyland, Cenote and Dominican Culture Tour, names Uvero Alto and Punta Cana as its departure areas.

The Bavaro strip concentrates most of the region's resort capacity along the coast road north of Punta Cana, and it is the zone the listings mean when they say "selected hotels". The featured plantation safari, a 6-hour trip from Runners Adventures, includes hotel pickup and drop-off and bottled water, with from $95 per person as its printed price. Its sister half-day listing, Punta Cana: Monkeyland Half-Day Safari and Plantation, states its pickup windows directly: morning pickups run between 7:00 AM and 8:10 AM, afternoon pickups between 1:00 PM and 2:10 PM. That is the concrete number to plan a breakfast around.

Uvero Alto, the quieter zone at the northern end of the strip, appears by name on the Punta Cana Monkey Sanctuary, Cenote and Dominican Culture Tour, from $95 per person over 4 hours, 4.2 from 162 reviews. Travelers staying further afield, in Bayahibe or La Romana, are served by dedicated listings rather than the Punta Cana ones, which matters enough that this guide treats it in its own section below. Once you've settled on a base, the guide to fitting a monkey tour into a week of Punta Cana excursions shows how it stacks up against Saona, Hoyo Azul and the buggy trips.

Tour listing Departure area Price Duration Pickup stated
Monkeyland and Plantation Safari Tour from Punta Cana Punta Cana From $95 per person 6 hours Yes, hotel pickup and drop-off
Punta Cana: Monkeyland Half-Day Safari and Plantation Punta Cana From $95 per person 5 to 5.5 hours Yes, pickup window stated
Punta Cana Monkey Sanctuary, Cenote and Dominican Culture Tour Uvero Alto and Punta Cana From $95 per person 4 hours Yes, pickup listed
Monkeyland Punta Cana Natural Jungle and Guided Safari Tour Punta Cana From $109 per person 5 hours Yes, transport to/from hotel
Monkey House VIP Animal Sanctuary Experience Punta Cana From $90 per person 2 hours 30 minutes Yes, pickup listed

One caution belongs here rather than repeated later: pickup is a per-listing fact, not a region-wide promise. Some listings leave pickup unstated, so confirm on the booking page; those same tours come up again in the section on reading the fine print. If a listing does not say pickup, assume a meeting arrangement and check with the operator before you build your hotel plan around it.

Which Hotels Get The Earliest Monkeyland Pickup Times?

The half-day safari's stated morning window is 7:00 AM to 8:10 AM, and the afternoon window is 1:00 PM to 2:10 PM, regardless of which hotel you pick. Hotels at the far ends of their route are collected first and dropped off last, so a hotel mid-strip usually means a later pickup and an earlier return. There is no fixed pickup order by hotel.

That two-hour morning window is the honest limit of what can be printed. What a traveler controls is the shape of the day around it. The 6-hour featured safari and the 8-hour monkey and zipline combos both eat most of a daylight day; the 2.5-hour Monkey House VIP experience, from $90 per person, 4.9 from 61 reviews, leaves the afternoon entirely free. A hotel near the middle of Bavaro pairs well with the longer trips because the transfer is short in both directions, while a hotel in Uvero Alto pairs naturally with the 4-hour cenote and culture tour that names that zone.

One listing handles Airbnb stays differently. Three tours price by group rather than per person. Three of them price per group. Tours By Miguel prices the Punta Cana: Monkeyland & ATV Tour with PickUp at $370 for the group, not per person, and it is one of three buggy and ATV listings priced that way. The outing lasts 6 hours. Airbnb guests are not collected at their accommodation; they head to a designated meeting point for pickup and drop-off. That is the pattern to expect generally, a named meeting point rather than a door pickup, and it is worth confirming in the same email thread that confirms your pickup time.

Safari truck parked on a red dirt track between cacao racks and palms, misty green ridges behind.

The deeper planning point: book the room first, then the tour. The pickup point and time are confirmed by email once booked on listings such as the ATV combo, and a fixed hotel gives the operator something concrete to schedule against. For a fuller comparison of the short and long versions of the monkey day, see half-day or full-day Monkeyland tour.

What Does A Hotel Near Monkeyland Actually Change About The Day?

It changes the transfer, not the park. Every Punta Cana listing visits the same five-acre Monkeyland park in the Anamuya hills, so a more expensive hotel buys a shorter truck ride, not a better encounter. Duration differences between listings, 4 hours against 6 against 9 hours 30 minutes for the Adventure Bundle, come from what is bundled around the monkey stop, not from where you sleep.

This is the single most useful mental model for the hotel decision. The Adventure Bundle: Monkeyland, Ziplines and Buggies Punta Cana runs 9 hours 30 minutes, costs from $209 per person, and holds a 4.9 rating across 13,844 reviews, the most of any tour on this page. Its monkey component is the same guided Monkeyland visit with entrance included that the from $95 safari sells; the ziplines, the 12-cable circuit and the Dominican lunch are what stretch the day. A hotel anywhere in the pickup zone works for either. Before you lock in a date, the guide to Punta Cana excursion safety and refund rules explains how advisories, weather alerts and cancellations affect these monkey tours.

What the hotel zone does shape is the countryside framing. The half-day safari describes mountain views, a typical Dominican house, and a coffee and cacao demonstration around the monkey encounter, and the open-air safari truck transport on several listings is part of the experience. Guests staying in the dense Bavaro strip get the longest, most colorful drive through the inland villages; guests in Uvero Alto are already partway into the hills.

Squirrel monkey on a wooden rail in a green park enclosure with banana and guava trees behind mesh

For travelers weighing the whole question of whether the day justifies its price, the site's Monkeyland tickets and prices guide breaks down every listed price against what each trip includes.

Can You Stay In La Romana Or Bayahibe And Still Do Monkeyland?

Yes, through the dedicated La Romana and Bayahibe listings rather than the Punta Cana ones. Monkeyland and Plantation Safari from La Romana runs 4 hours at $95 per person, rated 4.6 across 77 reviews, with hotel pickup listed. From Bayahibe, a Half Day Monkeyland Safari runs 5.5 hours at $95 per person with pickup and lunch included, and a 4x4 Buggy and Monkeyland Tour runs from $179 per person.

The La Romana listing matters because it holds the price line with the Punta Cana versions while cutting the duration to 4 hours, reflecting the shorter transfer from that coast. The Bayahibe half-day safari includes lunch and transport by open-air safari truck alongside the Monkeyland entrance. The buggy option prices per group rather than per person, which changes the math for families: from $179 per group over 8 hours, with a Dominican lunch, buggy training and equipment included.

One rule carries across every one of these listings, and it is worth knowing before you choose a hotel restaurant for breakfast: the operators state that people with a cold or upper respiratory infection cannot enter Monkeyland, and those with severe peanut allergies cannot take part in the interaction. That is the operator's rule as printed on the Runners Adventures listings, and it applies on both coasts.

La Romana and Bayahibe listing Price Duration Rating Lunch
Monkeyland and Plantation Safari from La Romana From $95 per person 4 hours 4.6 from 77 reviews Not stated
Monkeyland and Plantation Safari Full Day from Juan Dolio From $95 per person 7 hours 4.9 from 128 reviews Typical Dominican buffet
From Bayahibe: Half Day Monkeyland Safari From $95 per person 5.5 hours 4.5 from 182 reviews Included
Bayahibe/La Romana: 4x4 Buggy and Monkeyland Tour From $179 per group 8 hours 4.1 from 14 reviews Dominican lunch included

Juan Dolio sits between the two zones and has its own full-day tour, rated 4.9 from 128 reviews, though hotel pickup there is not guaranteed, so travelers staying in Juan Dolio should confirm the meeting point with the operator before booking. For the full picture of that coast, the La Romana and Bayahibe Monkeyland guide covers every listing in the category.

Is A North Coast Hotel Better For Monkey Tours?

For monkey tours, no, but for monkey options, partly. Puerto Plata carries its own cluster: Monkeyland Puerto Plata at $69 per person, 4.9 from 1,549 reviews, and a Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure at $90 per person, 4.9 from 403 reviews. Sosua adds Monkey Jungle, a separately owned venue whose official site lists admission at $50 for ages 12 and up, $40 for children 3 to 11, cash only.

The north coast traveler is not doing the Anamuya park. Monkeyland Puerto Plata is a different product from a different departure area, a 4.5-hour group safari where visitors feed the monkeys fruit, priced from $69 per person, the cheapest way onto a well-reviewed monkey tour. The operator doesn't confirm hotel pickup for this Puerto Plata tour, so don't count on being collected at your door. Two Damajagua combos exist. Aribel and Yeury's Monkey Park Tour and Damajagua Waterfalls runs from $87 per person, rated 4.9 across 173 reviews. Their separate $89 combo adds a MonkeyHome stop and isn't for children under 8. The $89 combo adds a MonkeyHome sanctuary stop; the $87 Monkey Park and Damajagua tour is separate. The second, the Damajagua Waterfalls & Monkey Park Combo Tour, from $89 per person and rated 4.9 across 16 reviews, is the one that adds a stop at the MonkeyHome sanctuary, and it is not suitable for children under 8.

Turquoise cascade pools in a rocky jungle canyon, tiny figures in red helmets at pool edge, mist rising

Monkey Jungle, inland from Sosua, is the one venue on the north coast you can visit without a tour operator in the middle. Its own homepage states the hours, 9:00 am to 4:00 pm, closure on Sundays, cash-only payment, and the admission tiers quoted above, and it states that profits go to HADAC, the venue's non-profit organization. No reservations are required, though the site recommends them in high season, which makes a Sosua or Cabarete hotel the most flexible base for a monkey day on this coast. The site's Monkey Jungle guide covers the venue in full.

Coastal road with palm trees and green hills above Sosua

Samana has its own pair of Monkeyland tours, both from $65 per person, the shared adventure at 1 hour and the open-air safari truck tour at 4 hours, among the shortest and cheapest monkey options out there. A hotel in Samana City pairs with the safari truck tour; its listing states it operates only from Samana City and directs Punta Cana guests to the Punta Cana versions.

What Should Cruise Passengers Know About Hotels And Monkey Tours?

Cruise passengers do not need a hotel at all, and they do not need the E-Ticket form either: the official tourism entry page states cruise ship passengers are exempt and use the physical forms instead. The Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion from Amber Cove and Taino Bay runs from $65 per person for 50 minutes, 5.0 from 16 reviews, with port pickup listed and transport described as wheelchair accessible.

That 50-minute excursion is the shortest monkey experience you can book. The operator states that monkeys climb onto shoulders, hands or head for photos inside an interactive enclosure, though animal behavior varies, so treat close-up contact as likely rather than promised. A second cruise option, the Monkey Tour from Taino Bay and Amber Cove, runs 2 hours from $89.30 per person and is explicitly observation-only: its restrictions state that touching, holding or feeding the animals is not permitted. Travelers should match the product to what they actually want from the morning.

Cruise port listing Price Duration Rating Interaction style per listing
Monkey Interaction Shore Excursion from Amber Cove and Taino Bay From $65 per person 50 minutes 5.0 from 16 reviews Interactive, monkeys described as climbing on visitors
Puerto Plata: Monkey Tour from Taino Bay and Amber Cove From $89.30 per person 2 hours No reviews yet Observation only, no touching or feeding
Monkey Encounter plus ATV Riding Adventure, Puerto Plata From $159 per person 4 hours 4.9 from 11 reviews Observation, feeding and learning, per listing

The Monkey Encounter + ATV Riding Adventure in Puerto Plata, run by Turistravels, lists its meeting points as Gate #5 at Taino Bay and the Main Exit Gate at Amber Cove. Its guides meet arriving passengers at both gates with name signs. The cruise-focused Amber Cove and Taino Bay monkey tours guide covers the full decision.

How Do You Read Pickup Fine Print Before Booking A Hotel?

Read the inclusions line on the specific listing, not the category. Two Monkeyland-adjacent listings state no confirmed pickup: Jungle Buggies and Monkeyland from Punta Cana, from $179 per person, and Monkeyland Puerto Plata, from $69 per person. Everything else on the Punta Cana side includes hotel pickup and drop-off, and every tour that shows a price also comes with free cancellation.

The pattern to watch is the difference between "selected hotels" and a blanket claim. The Punta Cana monkey and zipline combo, rated 4.8 across 1,227 reviews and priced from $130 per person, lists hotel pickup and drop-off for selected hotels only, so check that phrase against your specific resort before booking. Pickup is not stated for the Juan Dolio full-day safari, so confirm on the live booking page. The Samaná shared adventure meets at Monkeyland Samana in El Limon. Hotel pickup is not stated, so confirm on the listing. Confirm details on the live booking page. None of this makes those listings bad options; it makes them options where the hotel decision comes second to the meeting-point conversation.

Dress and health rules are the other fine print that shapes the hotel morning. The Runners Adventures half-day listing asks guests not to wear sunscreen or insect repellent before the interaction, and excludes pregnant women and guests with heart conditions, epilepsy or upper respiratory infections. All 28 tours include free cancellation, and published from-prices run from $65 to $209 per person, though three buggy and ATV listings are priced per group. Packing guidance is collected in what to wear to Monkeyland.

Still resort pool at dawn between royal palms with loungers lined on swept coral stone pavers
A table of five Monkeyland tours comparing listed price, duration and hotel pickup details for trips departing Punta Cana and Uvero Alto.
Every tour listed includes hotel pickup, with durations of 2 hours 30 minutes up to 6 hours.

Ethics questions deserve the same plain treatment. Operators describe limits on daily visitor numbers and veterinary oversight, though no independent welfare review or regulator statement supports those accounts. What can be said firmly is on the ethics review of Monkeyland, which also covers the questions to ask any animal attraction before booking. The site itself, Monkeys in Dominican Republic, exists because the country has no native wild monkeys today: the only primate native to Hispaniola, the Hispaniola monkey, is extinct per the paleontological record, and every monkey a visitor meets is kept in a park such as the five-acre Monkeyland.

Common Questions About Hotels Near Monkeyland Punta Cana

Can You Stay In La Romana Or Bayahibe And Visit Monkeyland?

Yes. Dedicated listings run from La Romana at $95 per person for 4 hours and from Bayahibe at $95 per person for 5.5 hours with lunch included, plus a $179 per group buggy combo.

Do All Monkeyland Tours Include Hotel Pickup?

No. Most Punta Cana listings do. The listings for Jungle Buggies and Monkeyland from Punta Cana, the Juan Dolio full day and Monkeyland Puerto Plata do not state whether pickup is included, so confirm on the live booking page before counting on it; the Samaná open-air safari truck tour does list pickup. Check the inclusions line before assuming.

Is A North Coast Hotel A Good Base For Monkey Tours?

It is a good base for different monkey tours. Puerto Plata has its own listings from $69 per person, Sosua has Monkey Jungle at $50 adult gate admission, cash only, and Samana has listings from $65 per person.

Do Cruise Passengers Need A Hotel For A Monkey Tour In Puerto Plata?

No. Shore excursions from Amber Cove and Taino Bay include port pickup, from $65 per person for the 50-minute interaction excursion, and cruise passengers are exempt from the E-Ticket form per the official tourism entry page.